Thursday, May 29, 2008

First IPL Semifinal Details

The first semi final of the Indian Premier League will be played between Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Daredevils at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai today (Friday, May 30).

The irony of the Indian Premier League's first semi-final is that Delhi have Rajasthan to thank for their place in the final four. Stuck on 15 points after 14 matches, Delhi needed Rajasthan to beat Mumbai in Jaipur and only after Mumbai's final-ball choke was Delhi's spot secured.

Ironic again because Rajasthan have lost to only three teams in the IPL - Punjab, in a dead rubber; Mumbai; and Delhi, their IPL semi-final opponents, in their first match of the tournament. Rajasthan were crushed in that encounter at the Feroz Shah Kotla by nine wickets and 29 balls to spare. They settled scores with Delhi during the home game , but that victory too looked improbable until Shane Watson blitzed 74 off 40 balls.

Rajasthan Royals, led by former Australian Shane Warne entered the IPL semi final with 11 wins and three defeats in 14 matches while Virender Sehwag's Delhi Daredevils qualified for the last four with seven wins, six defeats in 14 matches.

The two teams have won one match each when they met in the league stage. Delhi Daredevils thrashed Rajasthan Royals by nine wickets in a disappointingly one-sided game at Delhi on April 19.

Rajasthan Royals didn't have a chance after their batsmen had floundered badly, putting up a dismal 129 on the board.

Gautam Gambhir's unbeaten 58, and his 112-run partnership with Shikhar Dhawan - who helped himself to a half-century as well - finished off the run-chase in a mere 15.1 overs.
Shane Watson scored a blistering 74 off 40 balls with five fours and same number of sixes to ensure Rajasthan Royals a three-wicket win over Delhi Daredevils at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium in Jaipur on May 11. Chasing 157 to win in 20 overs, Rajasthan made 159 for seven and won with five balls to spare.

Delhi Daredevils made 156 for seven in 20 overs. Maharoof who top scored for the Delhi team (39) , hit Shane Warne for 26 runs in the penultimate over with the help of four sixes, lifting the spirits of a dejected Delhi team.



** Beat Rajasthan Royals by 9 wickets at Delhi
** Beat Deccan Chargers by 9 wickets at Hyderabad
** Lost to Kings XI Punjab by 4 wickets at Mohali
** Beat Bangalore Royal Challengers by 10 runs at Delhi
** Beat Chennai Super KIngs by 8 wickets at Chennai
** Lost to Mumbai Indians by 29 runs at Mumbai
** Lost to Chennai Super Kings by 4 wickets at Delhi
** Lost to Rajasthan Royals by 3 wickets at Jaipur
** Lost to Kolkata Knight Riders by 23 runs at Kolkata
** Beat Deccan Chargers by 12 runs at Delhi
** Lost to Kings XI Punjab by 6 runs (D/L method) at Delhi
** Beat Bangalore Royals Challengers by 5 wickets at Bangalore
** Match abandoned with Kolkata Knight Riders at Delhi
** Beat Mumbai Indian by 5 wickets at Delhi


** Lost to Delhi Daredevils by 9 wickets at Delhi
** Beat Kings XI Punjab by 6 wickets at Jaipur
** Beat Deccan Chargers by 3 wickets at Hyderabad
** Beat Bangalore Royal Challengers by 7 wickets at Bangalore
** Beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 45 runs at Jaipur
** Beat Chennai Super Kings by 8 wickets at Jaipur
** Lost to Mumbai Indians by 7 wickets at Mumbai
** Beat Deccan Chargers by 8 wickets at Jaipur
** Beat Delhi Daredevils by 3 wickets at Jaipur
** Beat Bangalore Royal Challengers by 65 runs at Jaipur
** Beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 6 wickets at Kolkata
** Beat Chennai Super Kings by 10 runs at Chennai
** Beat Mumbai Indians by 5 wickets at Jaipur
** Lost to Kings XI Punjab by 41 runs at Mohali


** Played on April 19,2008 at Delhi
Toss: Rajasthan Royals
Rajasthan Royals: 129-8 in 20 overs (Ravindra Jadeja 29, Dinesh Salunkhe 26 not out)
Delhi Daredevils: 132-1 in 15.1 overs (Gautam Gambhir 58 not out, Shikhar Dhawan 52 not out)
Result: Delhi Daredevils won by nine wickets
Man of the Match: Farveez Maharoof (Delhi Daredevils)
** Played on May 11,2008 at Jaipur
Toss: Rajasthan Royals
Delhi Daredevils: 156 for seven in 20 overs (Farveez Maharoof 39, Gautam Gambhir 31)
Rajasthan Royals: 159 for seven in 19.1 overs (Shane Watson 74)
Result: Rajasthan Royals won by three wickets
Man of the Match: Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals)

No comments: