Friday, May 30, 2008

Bookies betting on Punjab and Rajasthan IPL Final Clash

The result of the first IPL semifinal were on expected lines when Rajasthan Royals beat Delhi Daredevils with ease. The books are highly in favor of a Punjab King's XI and Rajasthan Royals IPL Final clash in Mumbai's D Y Patil Stadium.

Earlier in the first IPL semifinal Australian Shane Watson guided the Rajasthan Royals to a 105-run win over the Delhi Daredevils in Mumbai and a place in the inaugural IPL final. Watson top-scored for the Royals with 52 off 29 deliveries and also dominated with the ball, dismissing the dangerous Virender Sehwag and Gautam Ghambir in quick succession to leave the Daredevils reeling.

And when Dinesh Karthik and Tillakaratne Dilshan departed cheaply, it was virtually all over for the shambolic Daredevils.

Earlier Watson built impressively on the platform provided by openers Graeme Smith (25) and Swapnil Asnodkar (39) as the Royals finished with a competitive 192-9 after being asked to bat first.

Asnodkar had stifled nerves at the start in typically explosive style as he put on 65 runs for the opening wicket with Smith.

Delhi never recovered from this early body blows and lost wickets at regular intervals while the asking rate kept climbing before they were shot out for a paltry 87 in 16.1 overs.

Rajasthan Royals now await the winners of the second semifinal, to be played at the same venue tomorrow between Punjab King's XI and Chennai Super Kings, in the IPL final to be played at the D Y Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on June 1.

If Watson stole the major honours of the day, teammate Yusuf Pathan hit a whirlwind 45 in 21 balls with four sixes and three fours.

The hard-hitting Pathan, named in the Indian 15 for next month's tri-series in Bangladesh and the Asia Cup in Pakistan earlier in the day, creamed the hapless Delhi attack, which included Glenn McGrath, to hit four sixes and three fours in his 21-ball knock.

The outcome if the second IPL semifinal today will decide who will play against the Rajasthan IPL team in the IPL finals.

No comments: